Grammatically Incorrect Status Updates on My Facebook Wall Part 3 and What My ESL Students Had To Say

Mark Zuckerberg may have started his “now billion-dollar” facebook with a number of advantages for its users to benefit from, nonetheless; it additionally has become a venue for another exciting not to mention educational activity at least for and by some students in this city (Surigao City, Philippines). Enriching English as a second language seems to have become one of those advantages that some of my students get from facebook and for some time now, I have been making it an added and endless resource of examples for my grammar classes thanks to another set of grammatically incorrect status updates in English on my facebook wall.

Although it’s not nice to put somebody’s mistake into scrutiny, pore over and talk about it, someone has to make use of them and turn the negative and the awkward feeling that one gets out of reading a grammatically wrong status update on his/her facebook wall into something constructive.

If in my last two posts of this series, I myself made the corrections for each faulty status update, this time,  I’d like those whom this post can reach to know what my students had to say about these updates and realize just as I have that while it’s generally accepted that professionals are far better equipped in the English language department and are expected to be accurate in it given the education they have as opposed to those who are still students, there are some, at least  some of my ESL STUDENTS who are impressively accurate in their grammar compared to a number of PROFESSIONALS whose posted grammatically incorrect status updates appear on my facebook wall.

Incorrect Status Update 1 – you did not gave me headaches kay buotan baja kamu….hmmmm

Student 1’s Correction (and what she had to say)
You did not GIVE me headache… – “Did” is one of the auxiliary verbs that help the main verbs tell what the subject is doing or has done. Although some auxiliary verbs require main verbs in the past participle such as “has,” “did” like most of the auxiliary verbs must be paired with main verbs in the base form such as “give.”

Incorrect Status Update 2 – Thank you mam, i can never forget the times that you helped me a lot while i am in USC all the way to my thesis writing and i am counting you as one of my great mentors of becoming a Montessori Teacher. I miss those times….

Student 2’s Correction (and what she had to say)
Thank you MA’AM, I can never forget the times WHEN you helped me a lot while I WAS AT USC all the way to my thesis writing. I am counting you as one of my great mentors… – The word “when” is the best to use since it comes after the noun “times;” because the sentence suggests that the action’s been done in the past, “am” is incorrect and has to be replaced with one in the past tense which in this case is “was” and when referring to an address or place the preposition “at” is the correct one to use instead of “in” which is a preposition that means “within.”

Incorrect Status Update 3- If I could sale furnitures international, I would!! 🙂

Student 3’s Correction (and what he had to say)
If I could SELL FURNITURE INTERNATIONALLY, I would. – The sentence suggests that the verb “sell” should be used instead of the noun “sale;” the noun “furniture” doesn’t get to have an “s” to make it plural instead it simply gets to have expressions added before it like “pieces of” or “some” just as what the noun “equipment” gets; and lastly, the word “international” functions as an adverb thus it needs to have an “ly” in the end.

Incorrect Status Update 4 – Don’t forget I do accepts any credit cards you have in your wallet 🙂

Student 4’s Correction (and what she had to say)
Don’t forget I do ACCEPT any credit cards you have in your wallet. – “Do” is an auxiliary verb that requires a main verb in the base form.

Incorrect Status Update 5 – Im wake up na mama, pls pick me up 😀

Student 5’s Correction (and what he had to say)
I’m ALREADY AWAKE mama, please pick me up. Or I’m AWAKE na mama, please pick me up. – The sentence suggests the of the adjective “awake” rather than using the verb “wake.

Incorrect Status Update 6 – …crawling in my new mat.

Student 6’s Correction (and what she had to say)
…crawling ON my new mat. – The preposition “in” means “within” which is not what the owner of the update is trying to say for it’s impossible. The preposition “on” is the correct one to use.

Incorrect Status Update 7 – For those who are interested please do not hesitate to message me anytime at your convenience time 24/7.

Student 7’s Correction (and what she had to say)
For those who are interested please do not hesitate TO SEND ME YOUR message anytime at your CONVENIENCE. Or For those who are interested please do not hesitate TO SEND ME YOUR message at your CONVENIENT TIME. – “Message” is a noun and shouldn’t be used as a verb unless English has evolved again and the word has been formally accepted to function as such; “convenience” is a noun and functions as such hence it doesn’t need the word “time” anymore nor “24/7” since it’s already suggested by the expression; however, when one uses the word “convenient” which is an adjective, this is when the noun “time” is needed.

Incorrect Status Update 8 – … I’m a businesswomen I know how things works. She was out of words….

Student 8’s Correction (and what she had to say)
I’m a BUSINESSWOMAN. I know how things WORK. She was out of words. – The article “a” is used with count nouns provided they are in the singular form otherwise, an article is unnecessary; the word “work” follows the plural noun “things” thus the verb should also be plural.

Incorrect Status Update 9 – Loving someone is the happiest thing that could happened in your life.

Students 9’s Correction (and what she had to say)
Loving someone is the happiest thing that could HAPPEN in your life. – “Could” is an auxiliary verb that requires a main verb in the base form.

Whereas selling items, spreading online death hoaxes and the like, starting charities, and swindling are the new-found activities that some people do using facebook, I and my students have found our own way of taking advantage of this social networking site-by using it as a means of enriching English as a second language beyond the four corners of the classroom.

More informative posts for your reading pleasure by clicking on the link below:

https://www.esl101.com/user/19327/blog

2 thoughts on “Grammatically Incorrect Status Updates on My Facebook Wall Part 3 and What My ESL Students Had To Say

Leave a Reply

